League of Arab States/ Arab League

League of Arab States/ Arab League

🖊  The Arab League is a regional organization in the Arab world, which is located in Northern Africa, Western Africa, Eastern Africa, and Western Asia. 

🖊 The Arab League was formed in Cairo on 22 March 1945 initially with six members: Egypt, Iraq, Transjordan (renamed Jordan in 1949), Lebanon, Saudi Arabia, and Syria.

🖊 Yemen joined as a member on 5 May 1945. 

🖊 The League has 22 members.

🖊 The League’s main goal is to “draw closer the relations between member states and co-ordinate collaboration between them, to safeguard their independence and sovereignty, and to consider in a general way the affairs and interests of the Arab countries.

Why it is in News ?














☞ For IAS & IFoS Prelims Preparation Click Here….

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *