N-power plants semiconductor mission

Government gives nod to 5 new sites for N-power plants

🖊 Jitendra Singh, Union Minister of State for Atomic Energy and Space, said administrative approval has been accorded by the Government provided financial sanctions for the construction of 10 indigenously made 700 Mega Watt Pressurized Heavy Water Reactors (PHWRs) that are to be set up in fleet mode.

🖊 By 2031, the country’s nuclear capacity is expected to reach 22,480 Mega Watt.

🖊 The Minister informed that there are presently 22 reactors with a total capacity of 6,780 Mega Watt in operation and one reactor, KAPP-3 (700 Mega Watt) has been connected to the grid in January last year. In addition, there are 10 reactors which are various stages of construction, which will add a total capacity of 8,000 Mega Watt.

🖊 Further in order to produce fuel for all indigenous PHWRs, Fuel fabrication capacity is augmented in the facilities available at Nuclear Fuel Complex, Hyderabad and the upcoming facilities at Nuclear Fuel Complex, Kota, Rajasthan in order to match with the requirement of existing PHWRs and upcoming PHWRs.

Advisory committee formed for semiconductor mission

🖊 The ministry of electronics and information technology (MeitY) on Wednesday formed an advisory committee for the country’s semiconductor mission. The 17-member committee of experts, comprises senior government officials, academicians as well as industry and domain experts.

🖊  The programme aims to provide financial support to companies investing in semiconductors, display manufacturing and design ecosystem.

🖊  This will serve to pave the way for India’s growing presence in the global electronics value chains. A specialised and dedicated ‘India Semiconductor Mission (ISM)’ has been set up within Digital India Corporation to drive India’s strategies for developing semiconductors and display ecosystem.

🖊 The advisory committee will be chaired by minister of electronics and IT Ashwini Vaishnaw, with MoS, ministry of electronics and IT (MeitY), Rajeev Chandrasekhar as the vice-chairperson. Secretary, MeitY shall be the convenor of the advisory committee.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *